Member Profiles

Edit this page to create a brief profile for yourself.

Jerry Kosicki

Dr. Kosicki has been teaching at Ohio State University since 1987. He has worked as a journalist for The Lake County News-Herald in Ohio, and also assistant city editor. Over the years he covered a variety of political topics and a number of the city governments in that area, including Mentor, Willoughby, Eastlake, Euclid, Madison Township and Painesville. He earned his B.A. in Communication from John Carroll University in University Heights, OH, and got his M.A. in Journalism from The Ohio State University, where he was awarded a university fellowship. He received his Ph.D. in mass communication from the School of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin-Madison where he studied political communication and media effects. He directed the Ohio State Center for Survey Research from 200-2004, and is now faculty coordinator for the Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Survey Research, a 23-credit hour program open to all graduate students in the university. He is now working with a committee to create an undergraduate minor in survey research that will be available to all undergraduates at OSU. Now that The Sopranos has concluded on HBO, his favorite TV shows include The Wire (HBO) and Mad Men (AMC). Recent films include Idiocracy, Children of Men, and Eastern Promises. For more details about The Wire, see this new profile of creator David Simon in the Oct. 16, 2007 issue of The New Yorker.

Heather Dodds

I am a senior at OSU studying journalism. I grew up in the small town of Bellefontaine, Ohio, but love being in the city. I'm not sure where my career will take me but I'm open to just about anything, anywhere. I have seven brothers and sisters and my parents have been married for 35 years. We are all very close but I am the only one who lives in Columbus; everyone else lives in Bellefontaine. One of my favorite things to do is to stay up late (after doing all the reading for Dr. Kosicki's class, of course) and watch all of my tv shows that I have saved on my DVR, fast-forwarding through all of the commercials. Those shows include Law and Order: SVU, CSI, Grey's Anatomy, and The Office. Any other free time I have is spent reading novels or scrapbooking (don't laugh). I've never blogged before…maybe I've said too much in my profile.

Brad Falcone

I am from Westerville, Ohio and studying journalism here at Ohio State. I hope to become a sports journalist one day. Sports are my passion, I love Ohio State everything, the New York Yankees, and the New York Jets. I transfered to OSU from Ohio University in 2006, and it was the best decision I've ever made in my life. I love Saturdays in Columbus, there is absolutely nothing like it with football and friends. My family all lives in Westerville still, which is only a short 10 minute drive away, and that sometimes is good and sometimes is not. I work at BJ's Brewhouse on Polaris Parkway as a server, and have been there since February of this year. I also have never blogged before.

Brad Morris

I'm a senior at Ohio State, double majoring in public affairs journalism and political science. I live in Circleville, Ohio and commute to campus on a daily basis. I'm a big fan of THE Ohio State Buckeyes, Cincinnati Reds, Cincinnati Bengals and also enjoy the Columbus Blue Jackets. Currently, I'm a free lance writer for the Circleville Herald in its sports department and also for JJHuddle, which is a statewide high school sports site. I was sports editor of the Circleville Herald for two years before returning to school to finish my college education. I was in charge of a sports department that covered five schools in Pickaway and southwestern Fairfield counties. I enjoy most kinds of music and love to hang out at area state parks, something I'm doing more since I was liberated from having to worry about school and a 70-hour per week job at the same time. I've never blogged before, however.

Dylan Horowitz

I am a junior at The Ohio State University and am majoring in Journalism. I have traveled 526.81 miles from Marlboro, NJ to reach paradise in Columbus , OH and have loved every minute of it. I am a huge sports fan of the Buckeyes, Giants, Knicks, Rangers and Yankees. A huge part of my life consists of my job as Co-Sports Director of Ohio State Student Sports Radio, which I have participated in for three years. During that time I have broadcast OSU football, basketball, baseball and ice hockey. Last year I was able to announce the football and basketball national championships, which I consider my greatest lifetime achievements. I also host a weekly sports talk show called "Bux on Bux". When I am not involved in sports, I am enjoying my time as a member of the Alpha Epsilon Pi Fraternity, watching movies/television or eating food. I love to travel as I spent three weeks in Israel and Greece last summer and am hoping to one day visit more of Europe and Asia. I have blogged a little bit online and I must say I rather enjoy it. On a side note Wikipedia is awesome and I hope to one day have something important enough to place on it.

Marc Feher

I am a junior in journalism. I aspire to be a broadcast news reporter. A lot of my family is in the media. I regularly read print media, but I find something more interactive about television as a medium. I live off-campus on East 14th Ave. I am employed by my sister's public relations firm. The only show I watch religiously is the Real World, as I had a cousin who appeared on the show. I am not really into movies either, heck I do not even own a dvd player. I enjoy spending time outside. I also love to cook and people watch.

Lesly Hernandez

I'm majoring in public affairs journalism and political science. I have a bad case of senioritis and I miss the Tropic of Cancer. Speaking of, that's my Zodiac sign. Chinese: Tiger. I always wanted more than a job. I wanted a career, but I never thought of majoring in something like English or journalism. That changed after Iraq. I was angry and disappointed at how the media repeated everything the government said in the run-up. I'm not into sports (sorry Buckeye fans). I'm more of an MMORPG gamer as far as hobbies go. I like to read fantasy fiction like R.A. Salvatore and George R.R. Martin before going to sleep (btw, Game, Storm and Clash blow the LoTR trilogy out of the water any day). I live with my boyfriend, Robert, and my very pretty, extremely clumsy cat, Misu (mee-soo), and his sweet mutt, Guinevere. I'm about 20 minutes away from campus when there's no traffic. Our home is small and modest, but a hell of a lot better than an apartment. I'm lucky I only have to worry about tuition and although Robert doesn't mind sometimes I feel bad that I don't bring in any income. That will hopefully change when I start my internship in winter quarter.

Brenda Kremens

I'm an Evolution and Ecology graduating senior. I currently work for the US Forest Service but work out of my office on campus in Aronoff. My supervisor, Dr. Matthew Dickinson is a research ecologist interested in wildland fire. I have been helping him organize and update his database as well as sample collection and processing. I was absent the second week of class because I was taking a wildland fire fighting course which certified me to fight forest fires and assist in prescribed burning (yes I know I should be out in CA right now helping). Clearly I am an outdoorsy person. I love traveling, eating, cooking, reading, hanging out with friends, music- especially live, and an array of hobbies. I hate working out, thinking about money, and the Bush Admin's foriegn policy and environmental policy. Currently I am investigating some options for the futre including graduate programs in environmental journalism, land management, and environmental law or policy. I have applied to a few internships in coastal areas dealing with wetland management that start in the winter.

Andy Smith

I am a Senior Communications major. I will graduate in June. I want to have a career in sports broadcasting after college. I am a member of Buckeye TV as a sports analyst. I enjoy watching movies, hanging out with friends and attending Buckeye sporting events. I am from Fremont, Ohio which is located 40 minutes south of Toledo and 25 minutes west of Cedar Point.

Quinn Stocker

I am a third year, double majoring in Photography and Journalism. I'm from a small town that most people have never heard of, let alone can pronounce: Gnadenhutten. I aim to work for a magazine, hopefully somewhere along the lines of a BMX, skating, or music magazine, but I'm prepared to take what I can get. I'm pretty uninteresting, I spend most of my free time either reading (favorite author is Chuck Palahniuk) or playing video games.

Adam Konvalinka

I am a senior in Journalism. I grew up in Massachusetts about 45 miles outside of Boston. I live with my girlfriend Kerry and two year old mut Buddy. I enjoy being outside with my dog, playing scrabble with Kerry, watching tv while surfing the web and listening to NPR/BBC. My favorite TV shows are Family Guy and The Office. I like to read for fun when I have free time. My favorite authors are Jack London and Raymond Carver. I would like to work in Journalism but am open to working in a variety of fields such as non-profit, public relations, advertising, or marketing. I would like to gain some professional work experience after school and when I have a better idea of what I want to do with the rest of my life go back to school and get a Masters. I've really always wanted to be an author and used to write short stories when I was younger, but have not had much time in the past couple years. I bartend at Bernies Distillery on High Street, across from the Wexner Center.
insert the code here

Kelly Cass

I am a senior in journalism with a minor in political science. I was born right outside of new orleans, lived in new jersey for eight years then moved medina, ohio where I graduated high school, but now my family lives in Northville, MI. I am a member of Alpha Phi, which i love. I have a serious addiction to gossip columns, but thrive off of CNN as well. I love to shop, go out to dinner, go to the movies, and go out with my girlfriends. I don't think I want to write when I graduate but am thinking of working on the business side of news or possibly going to law school in the future. I hostess at the Columbus Brewing Co. which is fun, but really I only do it for the perks, which is 40% off at cameron mitchell restaurants. I also love to workout and frequent the rpac. I am interested in learning to play raquetball so if you can teach me I will be your friend.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License